Books I’m Anticipating in May 2017

Well it’s nearing the end of April, and I’m looking out for quite a number of new releases this May, so I thought I’d share them here with everyone 🙂

(Side note: I can’t believe it’s going to be May already?!)

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

ACOWAR

Expected Release Date: 2 May 2017

This is the third installment to A Court of Thorns and Rosesand I’m dying to know what’s going to happen next, as well as craving more time with the amazing cast of characters that Sarah J Maas has brought to life. Already, I’ve read the second book A Court of Mist and Fury at least 3 times, and I’m pretty certain this upcoming book will blow my mind!

[7 June 2017 EDIT: it did not blow my mind 😔]

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Always and Forever Lara JeanExpected Release Date: 2 May 2017

This is also the third book in a series, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. But I’m a little more apprehensive about this release, because while the first book was amazing, the second was slightly underwhelming and I do kind of feel that this series is dragging out longer than necessary. I just have to hold on to the hope that this book is going to redeem the series rather than spoil it!

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Expected Release Date: 16 May 2017Flame in the Mist

A new fantasy series from the author of The Wrath & The Dawn! I’ve heard many good things about The Wrath & The Dawn, but unfortunately haven’t gotten to it yet. But the synopsis of Flame in the Mist sounds even more appealing to me and what’s more, it’s a Mulan retelling! In addition to a lot of action & romance & awesome characters, I’m hoping to see pieces of Japanese culture weaved into the story, as I’m a quite fan of cultural stuff heh.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met RishiExpected Release Date: 30 May 2017

This sounds like a really cute YA rom-com with a unique premise (Indian culture!). Light, fluffy romance novels are my go-to whenever I’m in a book slum, and they’re my favourite kinds of book to read over and over again. Really hoping this becomes a new addition in my list of favourite books to re-read!

[Edit: See my review of When Dimple Met Rishi here!]

Sad Girls by Lang Leav

Expected Release Date: 30 May 2017Sad Girls

Words cannot express how much I adore Lang Leav’s way with words in her poetry, and I’ve been anticipating Sad Girls, her debut novel, since the very first mention of it on her social media. I look forward to having my heart wrenched out by her tragically (in the best way) beautiful writing!

Are any of you looking forward to these same releases?

What other books are you anticipating or intending to read this May? 🙂

Leave a Reply

