Review: Sugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas

Sometimes I wish I could erase my memory just so I can re-read novels without already knowing everything that’s going to happen, as if it’s the first time. The feels are just not the same. Still, Sugar Daddy is a book that allows you to mourn, rage, and smile at all the things that happen even if you’ve already read it before.

sugar-daddy-lisa-kleypas
Source: Goodreads

The first time I read Lisa Kleypas’ Sugar Daddy was in the midst of my A levels last year when I just did not want to study. It was a well-deserved (or so I thought back then) break from studying, and I finished it in a day and gave it 5 stars.

I read it again because I’ve been in a huge book slump for weeks (started and could not finish 5 books!). So I’m glad to say that Sugar Daddy survived my book slump, and not only that, came out with its 5 stars still intact.

Sugar Daddy (read synopsis here) is classified as Romance and Contemporary. Honestly I don’t really know what Contemporary really means, but I do know that this book isn’t just Romance. I feel that it’s a lot about Liberty’s character and development throughout the years more than anything. It’s a story about perseverance.

I like the way Lisa Kleypas tells the story. She weaves in all sorts of anecdotes and while they don’t seem to be extremely relevant to the story ultimately, these anecdotes subtly tell us a lot about the characters, the place and the mood. I love such narratives and it’s a massive indication of Kleypas’ writing skills. It always amazes me when authors are able to do that: grasp the reader’s attention with just plain ol’ storytelling.

On to the romance aspect.. Kleypas was great at conveying the chemistry and tension between Liberty and the two male leads. I shared Liberty’s want and frustration and hurt… and that’s all I can say without spoiling things.

I have one gripe though, which is that the epilogue was so romance-centred. I just wish that it was more of a reflection from Liberty rather than a cliched romantic happily ever after. For example, the last sentences, “In fact, every day is filled with ordinary miracles. You don’t have to look far to find them.” don’t seem to have much link to the story. Or at least if there was a link, I feel like there could have been some additional things said about it. It seems so out of place, like Kleypas just added it to have a (sort of) nice concluding statement. Additionally, this book wasn’t so much about romance as Liberty’s life story, so the epilogue should have talked a little more about the latter rather than wholly focus on the former.

That said, the rest of the book was fantastic, and I would definitely continue reading the series… except the second book, Blue-Eyed Devil, is about Hardy, and I honestly don’t really want to see him any more… But it has an even higher rating than Sugar Daddy on Goodreads, so maybe I’ll try it sometime!

Side note: bonus points for Sugar Daddy because it was there I discovered one of my favourite poems, Do Not Stand At My Grave and Weep by Mary Elizabeth Frye.

Do Not Stand At My Grave and Weep

-Mary Elizabeth Frye-

Do not stand at my grave and weep,

I am not there; I do not sleep.

I am  a thousand winds that blow,

I am the diamond glints on snow,

I am the sunlight on ripened grain,

I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush

I am the swift uplifting rush

Of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry,

I am not there; I did not die.

2 thoughts on “Review: Sugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas

  1. Great review! It’s refreshing to read someone’s review who doesn’t copy and paste a Goodreads Synopsis.

    I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction. I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

